Skip to content

Nally re-appointed as Minister of Service Alberta, named member of Treasury Board

Recently re-elected Morinville-St. Albert MLA Dale Nally has been re-appointed as Minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction, Premier Danielle Smith announced today.

Recently re-elected Morinville-St. Albert MLA Dale Nally has been re-appointed Minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction, Premier Danielle Smith announced today when she revealed her new cabinet.

Nally had served as Minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction for the six months leading up to the recent provincial election.

On top of being named to Premier Smith's cabinet, Nally was also named a member of the Alberta Treasury Board. As a member of the Treasury Board, Nally will work with the new Minister of Finance, Nate Horner, along with seven other cabinet members to develop provincial budgets, administer tax and revenue programs, and more.

The Gazette attended the media availability in Edmonton on Friday following the swearing in ceremony of Premier Smith's cabinet, however government media staff ended the press conference before the Gazette could ask Nally questions about his re-appointment.

Overall the new cabinet has 25 members, which is two less than Smith's previous cabinet after she won the UCP leadership race last fall.

A few major changes in Smith's new cabinet include a new Minister of Health, Adriana LaGrange, who takes over from Jason Copping after he lost his re-election bid in Calgary-Varsity; a new Minister of Justice, Mickey Amery, who takes over for Tyler Shandro who lost his re-election attempt in Calgary-Acadia by just 25 votes; and a new Minister of Mental Health and Addiction, Dan Williams, who is taking over for Nicholas Milliken, who also lost his recent re-election bid in the Calgary-Currie riding.

Smith has also given new roles to previous ministers, such as Rebecca Schulz, who had served as the Minister of Municipal Affairs for the previous six months leading up to the provincial election in May. On Friday it was announced that Schulz will now serve as Minister of Environment and Protected Areas, while Ric McIver will take over as the new Minister of Municipal Affairs.

McIver was previously Minister of Municipal Affairs from July 2021 until last October.

St. Albert's Mayor Cathy Heron posted on Twitter Friday that she has “always enjoyed (McIver's) no nonsense approach,” and congratulated McIver for being re-appointed to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs.

Smith questioned for Minister of Health choice

Speaking at the media availability Friday after the swearing in ceremony, Premier Smith faced questions about her decision to appoint Adriana LaGrange as Minister of Health, given she was previously the president of Red Deer Pro-Life, an anti-abortion advocacy group.

“Everyone knows my position on the issue of choice and my position hasn't changed nor has the position of our government,” Smith said in response to a question by Global News. “Everyone also knows that Adriana Lagrange is one of our most competent ministers.”

“We will not be changing any laws regarding a woman's right to choose,” Smith said. 

Prior to being appointed Minister of Health, LaGrange was Alberta's Minister of Education for the past four years. Taking over as Minister of Education this term will be Demetrios Nicolaides, who previously served as the Minister of Advanced Education. 

Rajan Sawhney has been appointed as the new Minister of Advanced Education.

Jack Farrell

About the Author: Jack Farrell

Jack Farrell joined the St. Albert Gazette in May, 2022.
Read more


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks