Skip to content

Incumbents rule in trustee, town elections

Many familiar faces re-elected

Sturgeon County-area voters and parents woke up to some familiar faces Tuesday as incumbents largely swept the region’s town and trustee elections.

Thousands of St. Albert and Sturgeon County area voters cast their votes Oct. 18 in the 2021 municipal elections. For the most part, they voted for incumbents.

The schools

Re-elected as St. Albert Public trustees were Kim Armstrong and Stanley Haroun, who were joined in council chambers by newcomers John Allen, Sheyanne Levall-Crouse, and Kristi Rouse.

Greater St. Albert Catholic voters re-appointed Joe Becigneul, Greg Schell, and Serena Shaw in the St. Albert ward, and picked Lydia Yeomans to join them. Noreen Radford, René Tremblay, and Cathy Proulx won by acclamation.

In Sturgeon Public, incumbents Janine Pequin, Joseph Dwyer, Trish Murray-Elliott, and Tasha Oatway-McLay were acclaimed as Wards 1, 3, 4, and 6 trustees, respectively. Newcomer Stacey Lee Buga was acclaimed as trustee for Ward 5 (Morinville). Cindy Briggs defeated Jared Ryan Thompson 380 to 156 in Ward 2 (Bon Accord/Legal), while Irene Grace Gibbons surpassed Barry Thimer in Ward 7 (Gibbons/Lamoureux) 484 to 294.

Étienne Alary, Steve Daigle, Giscard Kodiane, Ismaïl Osman-Hachi, Tanya Saumure, and Jean-Daniel Tremblay were acclaimed to the Conseil scolaire Centre-Nord board.

The towns

Incumbents Lynn Bidney, Lacey Laing, and Tanya May were re-elected to Bon Accord council Monday, with voters picking rookie Cory Roemer to fill the last seat. Former councillor Brian Holden was acclaimed as mayor. Voter turnout was unavailable as of Oct. 19.

Dan Deck defeated challenger Kendra Ball 488 to 282 and remained mayor of Gibbons Monday. He was joined on council by newcomer Willis Kozak and incumbents Loraine Berry, Amber Harris, Darren McCann, Jaycinth Julian Millante, and Norman Sandahl. The Town of Gibbons did not post its voter turnout.

Legal residents gave incumbents Pat Hills, Trina Jones, Fred Malott, and Carol Tremblay another term on council while adding newcomer Mark Veenstra to the mix. Voter turnout was pegged at 37.3 per cent. Legal councillors will elect a mayor from among themselves later this fall.

In Redwater, former councillor David McRae defeated challenger Richard Jacob 497 to 168 to take the mayor’s chair. Joining him at the council table were incumbents Constance Butcher, Robert Olsen, Dwayne Spicer, and Joanne Williams, along with newcomers Tina Cosby and Joseph Melnick. Voter turnout was unavailable when this story went to press.

Towns and school boards will release official election results later this month.

Kevin Ma

About the Author: Kevin Ma

Kevin Ma joined the St. Albert Gazette in 2006. He writes about Sturgeon County, education, the environment, agriculture, science and aboriginal affairs. He also contributes features, photographs and video.
Read more