Skip to content

Sports Extra

A St. Albert rink skipped by Ben Bellamy will rock the ice at the Lakeland 2010 Alberta Winter Games.

A St. Albert rink skipped by Ben Bellamy will rock the ice at the Lakeland 2010 Alberta Winter Games.

At the recent zone 5 playdowns at Fort Saskatchewan, the Northern Junior Super League foursome of Bellamy, third Kenton Maschmeyer, second Brett Winfield and lead Jaques Bellamy finished the round robin draw in a three-way tie for top spot with Scott Villeneuve of Leduc and Reed Sutton of Spruce Grove with 4-1 records.

Bellamy earned the right to represent the zone at the Feb. 4 to 7 winter games with wins of 8-6 against Villeneuve and 10-0 against Sutton in the round robin.

Bellamy’s only loss was 10-2 against Karsten Sturmay of Leduc.

Meanwhile, in the Thursday night men’s league at the St. Albert Curling Club, Bellamy shares first place with Jamie King, the four-time reigning club champion. In this week’s showdown between the league leaders, the teams settled for a rare tie. In the last end King and his men had the hammer and needed to hit and stick for one but ended up rolling out as Bellamy stole the equalizer.

King wasn’t skipping in Thursday’s big game because of commitments with his cash spiel rink at the northern Alberta playdowns at Wetaskiwin.

Five members of the Lorne Akins Crush junior high wrestling team will grapple for medals at the Lakeland 2010 Alberta Winter Games.

At the zone 5 trials in Edson, Jesse Shirton pinned down gold in the 40-kilogram category for an automatic berth at the Feb. 4 to 7 event.

Four more Crushers were named as alternates and they will compete for other zones. They are Darian Bundas-Elgert (60 kg), Tanner Bornowsky (44 kg), Sarah Kay (65 kg) and Hayley Allen (57 kg).

In the female ranks, the Crushers were represented by 11 wrestlers at Thursday’s all-girls’ tournament at Archbishop Joseph MacNeil School and everyone earned podium finishes. They included gold medallists Tegan Barnes (48 kg), Kim Wilson (70 kg) and Sydney Sloboda (38 kg), silver medallists Lauren Rogers (31 kg), Annie Boyd (50 kg), Lizzie Pasek (56 kg), Katja Randall (37 kg) and Allen (57 kg) and bronze medallists Emily Ferro (53 kg), Annie Vanier (51 kg) and Kay (62 kg).

The next meet for the Crushers is the Jan. 23 all-boys’ tournament at Edmonton.

Eight athletes with the St. Albert Nordic Ski Club (STANSKI) qualified for the Lakeland 2010 Alberta Winter Games.

It’s the largest contingent of athletes to ever represent STANSKI in zone 5 at the provincial competition.

Going for gold at the Feb. 4 to 7 winter games are Sean Livingstone, James Thomson, Luke Hansen and Jonathan Far in mini midget boys, Katlyn McTavish in midget girls, Anders Cowper in midget boys and Alexander Dielman and Martijn Dielman in juvenile boys.

Meanwhile, four STANSKI members competed at the Cross Country Ski Alberta Cup races 3 (freestyle sprint) and 4 (classic individual start) last weekend at Grande Prairie.

The results in the freestyle sprint are as follows:

Mia Cowper: second, atom girls’ 150 metres

Anders Cowper, third, midget boys’ 500m

Daniel McTavish, seventh, junior boys’ 750m

Katlyn McTavish: 13th, midget girls’ 500m

Here are the placings for the classic individual start:

Anders Cowper, first, midget boys’ 2.5 kilometres

Mia Cowper, second, atom girls’ 500m

Daniel McTavish, eighth, junior boys’ 10 km

Katlyn McTavish, 12th, midget girls’ 2.5 km

The next Alberta Cup races are Feb. 27-28 at Edmonton. There are eight races overall in the provincial series.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks