Skip to content

Sports Extra

The following athletes representing the Paul Kane Blues and St. Albert Skyhawks generated top three placings at the Edmonton zone high school track and field finals last weekend. Jade Guinchard, Skyhawks: junior girls — third place, 100m (13.
Jeremy Broadfield

The following athletes representing the Paul Kane Blues and St. Albert Skyhawks generated top three placings at the Edmonton zone high school track and field finals last weekend.

Jade Guinchard, Skyhawks: junior girls — third place, 100m (13.03); third place, 80m hurdles (13.43).

Rachel Francois, Paul Kane: junior girls — first place, 800m (2:22.84); second place, 400m (58.82).

Kelly Fagan, Paul Kane: junior girls — third place, high jump (1.53m).

Jenn Mentanko, Paul Kane: intermediate girls — second place, 100m (12.84); second place, 200m (26.36).

Kim Kaplar, Skyhawks: intermediate girls — second place, high jump (1.50m).

Lexi Lathan, Skyhawks: senior girls — first place, discus (26.28m); third place, shot put (8.42m).

Garrett King, Paul Kane: junior boys — first place, 100m hurdles (14.49); second place, 200m (23.06); third place, 400m (53.41).

Aaron Weicker, Paul Kane: junior boys — third place, 800m (2:05.05).

Trevor Schiavone, Paul Kane: senior boys — second place 800m (2:02.96).

Provincials are this weekend in Calgary.

The 18th annual Sir George Simpson triathlon Wednesday featured 13 students who completed six lengths of Grosvenor pool, biked 2.5 kilometres and ran 1.2 km.

The rest of the field competed in the team event per grade level.

The individual winners are as follows.

Grade 7: first place — Anders Cowper, second place — Zane Hermanutz, third place — Jordan Macialek.

Grade 8: first place — William Mazurek, second place — Alexander Dieleman, third place — Cole Forster.

Grade 9: first place — Nick Stehelin.

The following are the team winners.

Grade 7: first place — Eleze Munro (swim), Eliza Cameron (bike), Haley Cabral (run); second place — Chad Burzminski (swim), Keaton Lockwood (bike), Nathan Wanchulak (run); third place — Mitchell Styba (swim), Dawson McKie (bike), Nick Duivenvoorde (run).

Grade 8: first place — Brandon Godley (swim), Loewan Lafleur (bike), Jeven Landry (run); second place — Tatiana Bowzaylo (swim), Lucas Tziklas (bike), Scott Marples (run); third place — Scott Dorland (swim), Kevin Standing (bike), Alex Cassells (run).

Grade 9: first place — Katrina Sharpe (swim), Jake Mentz (bike), Josh Jewell (run); second place — Shannon Johnson (swim), Michael Doig (bike), Dean Fairall (run); third place — Taylor Burzminski (swim), Julius Fernandez (bike), Greg Knoblauch (run).

Scotty Hudson of St. Albert has accepted a hockey scholarship to play for the Manhattanville College Valiants, a division III team in the Eastern College Athletic Conference west division.

Hudson completed his third and final Alberta Junior Hockey League season as the third-highest scorer with 81 points in 61 games. The Bellerose Composite High School grad split the 2008/09 campaign between the Canmore Eagles (22-33-55, 42 GP) and Sherwood Park Crusaders (8-18-26, 19 GP). The former midget AAA St. Albert Raider broke into the AJHL with the Spruce Grove Saints in 2006/07. In 163 career AJHL games he scored 61 goals, including 28 on the power play, and added 120 assists for 181 points. The skilled left winger also played in the 2008 and 2009 AJHL all-star games.

Hudson, 21, joins forward Owen Chatwin, a St. Albert minor hockey product and former captain of the Camrose Kodiaks, at Manhattanville. In his freshman season Chatwin had one goal, one assist and 14 PIM in 11 games and was plus-three.

Hometown hero Jarome Iginla of the Calgary Flames is one of three finalists for the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award.

Also in the running are Boston Bruins’ defenceman Zdeno Chara and Pittsburgh Penguins’ star Sidney Crosby.

The award recognizes an individual as a superior leader in hockey and as a contributing member of society. It will be presented June 18 at the NHL’s annual awards gala. Previous winners were Chris Chelios in 2007 and Mats Sundin last year.

Nominations were compiled from a list of suggestions from team and league personnel, with Messier making the final decision from the three finalists.

Since 2000, Iginla has donated $2,000 for each goal he scores and has been an ambassador for KidSport Calgary, which buys equipment and pays registration fees for disadvantaged families.

The St. Albert minor hockey alumnus also supports Doctors Without Borders and juvenile diabetes and is a member of the Garth Brooks Teammates for Kids Foundation.

The 2004 winner of the NHL Foundation Award for community service and the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for his humanitarian contributions also donates time and money to various youth hockey programs, hockey diversity initiatives and literacy programs.

In 12 NHL seasons the Flames’ captain led the league in goal-scoring twice and won the Art Ross Trophy in 2002. The five-time NHL all-star and two-time Olympian is also a potential captain for Team Canada at the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver.

Iginla, 31, is also the Flames all-time leader in goals scored (409), points (851) and games played (942).