Skip to content

Giant slate for Alexander

Alexander residents will face one of their longest ballots ever this month now that almost 50 people have thrown their hats in the ring.

Alexander residents will face one of their longest ballots ever this month now that almost 50 people have thrown their hats in the ring.

A total of 47 people have signed up to run in this month’s council elections, according to Casey Auigbelle, assistant elections co-ordinator for the band. All candidates were nominated at the community hall on Thursday afternoon, including eight candidates for chief and 39 for councillor.

All six members of the current council are running for re-election, including Allan Paul (for chief), Bernard Paul, Sheldon Arcand, Kurt Burnstick, Norman Kootenay and Martin Arcand (for councillor). Former councillors Joe Newborn and Howard Auigbelle are also taking another run for office.

This is probably a record number of candidates, says Sylvia Arcand, long-time band resident and widow of former chief Raymond Arcand. It certainly beats the 44 that ran for office in 2008.

Arcand said she planned to follow in her husband’s footsteps by running for councillor in this election. “He was a hard worker, and I’m going to try my best.”

Arcand previously served as councillor in Alexander from 1997 to 2000.

“I know the issues,” she said, adding that, if elected, she planned to focus on education, economic development and government reform.

Arcand was one of the few candidates that the Gazette could reach for comment as of press time. Council candidates Dennis R. Arcand, Ernie Bruno, Sheldon Arcand, and Francis C. “Poncho” Arcand did not wish to comment.

Residents will get a chance to hear from all candidates at a forum tomorrow at the community hall, Auigbelle said. The forum runs from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Candidates have until Aug. 9 to withdraw from the electoral race. The election is on Aug. 11. For details, call electoral officer Marvin Yellow Horn at 403-370-0272.

Candidates a-plenty

One big list<br />Alexander residents will elect one chief and six councillors this Aug. 11. The candidates are listed here: <br />For chief: Bruce Arcand, Herb Arcand, Brent Burnstick, Clayton Kootenay, Joe Newborn, Allan Paul (incumbent), Edwin Paul and Marcel Paul.<br /><br />For councillor: Adele Arcand, Armand Arcand, Audra Arcand, Bruce Arcand, Charles M. Arcand, Cory Arcand, Curtis "Chewy" Arcand, Dennis "Custer" Arcand, Dennis R. Arcand, Eric Arcand, Ernest Arcand, Francis C. "Poncho" Arcand, Francis "Frank" Arcand, Ken R. Arcand, Marcel Arcand, Martin Arcand (incumbent), Marty Arcand, Sheldon Arcand (incumbent), Sylvia Arcand, Theodore "Ted" Arcand, Andy Auigbelle, Howard Auigbelle, Barbara Bairnes, Ernie Bruno, Leslie Bruno, Hank Burnstick, Harvey Burnstick, Kurt Burnstick (incumbent), Steve Burnstick, Dora Courteoreille, Frank "Sask" Kootenay, Norman Kootenay (incumbent), Lyle Lafleche, Terry Newborn, Bernard Paul (incumbent), Calvin Paul, Shawna Paul, Craig "Muck" Yellowdirt and Jerome "Max" Yellowdirt.

Kevin Ma

About the Author: Kevin Ma

Kevin Ma joined the St. Albert Gazette in 2006. He writes about Sturgeon County, education, the environment, agriculture, science and aboriginal affairs. He also contributes features, photographs and video.
Read more


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks