Updates on senior B lacrosse provincial final, rugby matches at SARFC and 29th annual St. Albert Triathlon


Senior B lacrosse

The fifth senior B provincial final in a row and eighth in nine years for the St. Albert Miners starts this weekend at Strathcona Olympiette Centre.

The Miners (19-1-1) run the floor against the Calgary Mountaineers (14-8) tonight at 8 p.m. and Sunday at 2 p.m.

The best-of-five series continues next weekend in Calgary with game three at 9 p.m. Friday and game four, if needed, is 5 p.m. Saturday at Max Bell Arena.

If a fifth game is required, Sunday’s start time is 3 p.m. at Strathcona Olympiette Centre.

The Rocky Mountain Lacrosse League provincial champion advances to the Presidents’ Cup, Aug. 26 to Sept. 2 at Nanaimo, B.C., and the host team is the Timbermen of the West Coast Senior Lacrosse Association.

The Miners are winners of back-to-back Presidents’ Cups and the team’s overall record in regular season, playoffs and nationals combined is 76-3-2 after losing the 2015 provincial final.

The Miners beat the Mountaineers twice in three games this season and the scores were 14-5 in St. Albert, 10-9 in overtime in Calgary and the 9-8 loss in Calgary.

SARFC matches

Today’s doubleheader at St. Albert Rugby Football Club kicks off at 12 noon with the division two men’s match.

SARFC is 1-7 (144PF/315 PA) and the Strathcona Druids are 1-8 (134 PF/384 PA) in the Edmonton Rugby Union.

The Alberta Cup premier men’s match between SARFC and the Nor’Westers starts at 4 p.m.

SARFC is winless in three matches against the Labatt’s Cup provincial champions, dating back to last year, after the 46-17 loss July 26 at the Nor’Westers.

The 6-1 Nor’Westers (265 PF/144 PA) and 4-3 SARFC (204 PF/192 PA) are ranked third and fourth, respectively, in the 11-team premier table as the top two ERU teams in the division.

Triathlon race

The 29th annual St. Albert Triathlon is good to go at 7 a.m. Sunday at Fountain Park Recreation Centre.

Registration totals are 128 for the sprint distance (750-metre swim, 20-kilometre bike and five-km run), 27 for try-a-tri (250m swim, 10-km bike and 2.5-km run) and three sprint relay teams.

Last year’s triathlon featured 125 sprint finishers, 22 try-a-tri newbies and six relay teams.

The sprint race winner was Trent Renshaw of Sydney, Australia, in one hour, six minutes and 20 seconds.

The triathlon is hosted by the St. Albert Road Runners and Triathlon Club and sanctioned by the Alberta Triathlon Association.


About Author

Jeff Hansen

Jeff Hansen joined the St. Albert Gazette in 1991. He writes about sports, athletes and teams from St. Albert and area.