Tash Taylor announces council bid


Another prospective councillor has announced she will run in St. Albert’s upcoming election.

Tash Taylor, 45, has lived in St. Albert for 13 years with her husband and daughter. She lives in North Ridge and has dedicated her time to the social and public sector.

With 25 years of community development experience, Taylor says she would bring insight into social issues such as the need for affordable housing.

She is currently the executive director for the Alberta Network of Public Housing Agencies and sits on the steering committee for the provincial affordable housing strategy, which was released in June. At the federal level, she is the vice-president of the Canadian Housing and Renewal Association.

Her past involvement locally includes being executive director of the St. Albert Housing Society and the director of strategic services for the city.

Taylor said her experience with issues such as complex budgeting, policy making and advocacy will help her to “hit the ground running” if she is elected.

“I’m intrinsically motivated to contribute more to society and try to help more people on a greater scale,” she said.

“I’m at the point where I just feel compelled to do more and try to achieve more for other people.”

She wants to help the city attract businesses and build up its commercial base, as well as invest in nonprofits and social needs.

“Things are often tied up at the council level, and I’m hoping to ease some of that challenge,” she said.

Environmental stewardship and support for the arts are also on her list.

If elected, Taylor hopes to build positive relationships with her fellow councillors while weighing the cost of decisions.

“I’m someone who doesn’t believe the means justify the end – I believe the means and the end are equally important,” she said.

“To me, it has always been important to manage how you get things done.”

Taylor will be running against Sandyne Beach-McCutcheon, Al Bohachyk, Wes Brodhead, Jan Butler, Craig Cameron, Mark Cassidy, Jacy Eberlein, Jacqui Hansen, Sheena Hughes, Charlene Jelinski, Natalie Joly, Mark Kay, Ken MacKay, Ufuoma Odebala-Fregene, Hannes Rudolph, Bob Russell, Steve Stone, Jaye Walter and Barry Zukewich. Current councillors Cathy Heron and Cam MacKay have launched mayoral campaigns, along with Malcolm Parker.

Nominations close on Sept. 18 and election day is Oct. 16.


About Author