On Tap


SARFC twin bill

The St. Albert Rugby Football Club hosts the Strathcona Druids in today’s doubleheader.

Kickoff times are 2 p.m. for the third division men and 4 p.m. for the premier men.

The SARFC thirds (7-2) are second behind the Edson Axmen (7-1-1) for the division pennant and a victory over the Druids (6-3) in the last match before the Edmonton Rugby Union playoffs would secure a first-round bye and home-field advantage in the Sept. 16 semifinals.

The ERU Visser Cup is Sept. 23 and the winner advances to the Digby Dinnie Cup provincials Sept. 30.

SARFC swept the ERU and provincial finals two years ago.

In the Alberta Cup premier division, SARFC (7-4) is fourth as the second highest-ranked north team behind the division leading Nor’Westers (10-1) and the Druids (5-6) are tied for fifth overall.

SARFC hosts the Druids in the Sept. 16 north semifinal and the winner plays the Nor’Westers for the Ken Ann Cup on Sept. 23.

The north champion qualifies for the Labatt’s Cup provincial final Sept. 30.

SARFC, winner of the last three Labatt’s Cups, is coming off a 25-17 loss to the Druids last weekend in Sherwood Park that ended the team’s five-game winning streak.

Miners lacrosse

The Presidents’ Cup starts Sunday for the St. Albert Miners as the defending national champions.

The first of eight round-robin games for the Miners at the senior B lacrosse tournament at Six Nations of the Grand River in Ontario is against the host Six Nations Slash at Iroquois Lacrosse Arena.

The Miners also play Monday against the Saskatoon Brewers, Tuesday against the Nova Scotia Privateers, Wednesday against the Six Nations Rivermen of Ontario, Thursday against the Ladner Pioneers of B.C. and the Native Sons of the Can/Am Lacrosse League, Friday against the St. Regis Braves of the Three Nations Senior Lacrosse League and Saturday against Kahnawake Mohawks of the Quebec Senior League.

The medal finals for bronze and gold are Sunday, Sept. 3.

Twitter updates from nationals will be posted at @StAlbertMiners.

Last year the Miners finished 25-0-1 overall as the first Alberta team to win the Presidents’ Cup since the Sherwood Park Outlaws in 2007 after beating Kahnawake 12-7 in the final as the host team for nationals in Leduc.

The Miners are 24-1 this season as provincial champions for the second straight year and the fifth time since 2010.


About Author

Jeff Hansen

Jeff Hansen joined the St. Albert Gazette in 1991. He writes about sports, athletes and teams from St. Albert and area.