Today’s premier men’s match between the St. Albert Rugby Football Club and the Clan kicks off at 4:15 p.m. at Airways Park.

SARFC (6-3) is fourth in the Alberta Cup table as the second-highest ranked north team behind the first-place Nor’Westers (9-1) and the Clan (2-7) is ninth in the 10-team league.

SARFC has three matches left after today to secure home-field advantage in the Sept. 16 north semifinal against the Lep/Tigers (4-6) or Strathcona Druids (4-5).

The winner plays the Nor’Westers for the Ken Ann Cup on Sept. 23 to determine the north rep in the Labatt’s Cup provincial final Sept. 30.

SARFC, winner of the last three provincial championships, is undefeated in four matches.

The men’s and women’s club championships are underway at the Sandpiper golf course.

Sunday’s start time is 8 a.m.

The men’s winner last year was Paul Simmons with rounds of 75 and 72.

The St. Albert Stars tackle the Airdrie Irish in the Alberta Football League playoffs today at Riel Recreation Park.

Kickoff is 6 p.m. between the fourth-place Stars (5-3) and fifth-place Irish (4-4) in the nine-team standings.

The Stars beat the Irish 44-0 in league play.

The winner plays the first-place Fort McMurray Monarchs (8-0), last year’s AFL and Canadian Major Football League champions, or the Calgary Gators (7-1) in the semifinals next weekend.

The 28th annual St. Albert Triathlon starts 7 a.m. Sunday at Fountain Park Recreation Centre.

The registration totals include 143 triathletes in the sprint distance (750-metre swim, 20-kilometre bike and five-km run) 25 for try-a-tri (250m swim, 10-km bike and 2.5-km run) and there are 15 sprint relay teams.

The post-race medal ceremony is 11 a.m.

Last year 138 triathletes, 70 males and 68 females, completed the sprint distance, 18 finished the try-a-tri and the sprint relay featured six teams.

Two years ago, 192 went the distance in the sprint distance.

Last year’s winner was Ian Elm in one hour, two minutes and 16 seconds and the top female was Adeline Maunder as the runner-up in the race at 1:05:12.

The 2015 champion was Mark Brown at 58:54 and the fastest female was Wietske Eikelenboom at 1:12:44 for 19th place overall.

The triathlon is hosted by St. Albert Road Runners and Triathlon Club and sanctioned by the Alberta Triathlon Association.


About Author

St. Albert Gazette

The St. Albert Gazette has been the source for news and community information in St. Albert and area since 1961. Today the twice-weekly full-colour tabloid delivers award-winning journalism in print, online and on mobile.