New bistro, Mercato opens and new board members on Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association for Business Briefs


The Canadian Way

A new bistro has moved into town, taking over the old 12 Acres location along St. Albert Trail.

The Riverbank Bistro at 8 Mission Ave. specializes in regional Canadian cuisine, featuring Alberta beef short rib, AAA rib-eye steak, AAA beef tenderloin and salmon fillet for their main dishes.

Dan Ducharme, owner and chef of Riverbank Bistro, said he wanted to open a restaurant focused on Canadian foods.

“I wanted to support the Canadian economy. I think that’s important nowadays with how the economy is going, so a lot of the product we use is sourced from Alberta or across Canada,” he said.

Both he and his wife Nicole Ducharme, who co-owns the restaurant, grew up in St. Albert. Dan began his culinary career by interning at the old River House Grill, which was once the restaurant at the Victorian-style house that Riverside Bistro now occupies.

The bistro is open Tuesday to Thursday from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m., Friday and Saturday from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. and Sunday from 4:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

For more information visit:

Italian Bakery opens

For those looking for Italian foods and baked goods, Italian Bakery’s Mercato has opened its doors.

The 10,000 square-foot-space is lined with aisles of pasta, pesto, sauce and oils. The grocer is outfitted with fresh produce, salami, cheeses and baked goods.

A 2,000 square-foot café features fresh coffee and baked goods.

The café is open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. and the market 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. every day, located at The Shops at Boudreau off Bellerose Drive and Boudreau Road. For more information visit the website at

Welcome aboard

The Alberta Industrial Heartland Association welcomed new board members on Nov. 10 during its annual general meeting.

Alanna Hnatiw, mayor of Sturgeon County; and Rod Frank, mayor of Strathcona County; were appointed to the board of the organization, which advocates, coordinates and promotes sustainable industrial development in the area.

They join re-elected officials Gale Katchur, mayor of Fort Saskatchewan, Don Iveson, mayor of Edmonton and Reeve Wayne Woldanski, from the County of Lamont.

The chairmanship was transferred during the meeting from Iveson to Katchur, where she will serve for the next two years.

The association is a cooperative effort of Lamont County, Strathcona County, Sturgeon County, Fort Saskatchewan and Edmonton.

For more information on the Alberta Industrial Heartland Association visit: 


About Author

Dayla Lahring

Dayla Lahring joined the St. Albert Gazette in 2017. She writes about business, health, general news and features. She also contributes photographs.