Heroes Hockey Challenge lineups, Skate Canada Challenge participants and STARSkate Invitational results


Heroes Hockey Challenge

The rosters have been finalized for the Heroes Hockey Challenge at 2 p.m. Sunday at Go Auto Arena.

The Edmonton Oilers Alumni team players are Glenn Anderson, Ty Gretzky, Garry Unger, Gord Bamford, Craig MacTavish, Dave Lumley, David Pelletier, Ryan Smyth, Fernando Pisani, Joaquin Gage, Doug Hicks, Jeff Deslaurier, Andrew Ference, Mark Fistric, Shawn Belle, Terran Sandwith and Darren Anderson.

Representing the Canadian Forces Warriors are Chris Burns, Lee Mariani, Jeff Bray, Samantha Brazeau, Andrew Marchand, Shane Dowding, Heather Weaver, Brian Kominar, Derek Prohar, Michael Gillespie, Adrian Wissman, Lance Matsos, Andrew Gallant, Trevor Gulyas, Steven Lavallee, Corey Harik, Zack Gatehouse, Hayley Wickenheiser, Derek Millard, Doug Jacquard and Jeff Dollimore. The coaches are Jim Butters, Sean Zebinski and Lorne Ford.

The referees are Jeff Winfield, Dave MacSween and Kerry Fraser.

The Heroes Hockey Challenge, founded by Glenn Cumyn and owned by the Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry Foundation, is a series of charitable hockey fundraising events held annually in communities across Canada.

Funds raised support ill and injured Canadian Armed Forces’ members, veterans, their families and families of the fallen.

Now in its seventh year, Heroes Hockey Challenge raised more than $250,000 and the PPCLI Foundation is partnering with the Edmonton Garrison Military Family Resource Centre for Sunday’s family-friendly event. This year’s theme is Heroes, Hockey, Heritage.

Doors open at 12:30 p.m. and tickets are $10.

Bamford, a popular country music singer, will perform the national anthem.

The Conn Smythe, Hart, Art Ross and Canada Cup trophies will also be on display for viewing and photos.

Skate Canada Challenge

Tobiah Wong and Adele Romanin are representing the St. Albert Figure Skating Club at the Skate Canada Challenge this weekend in Pierrefonds, Quebec.

The pre-novice skaters qualified with top-four finishes at the Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Sectionals in early November in Lethbridge as Wong placed fourth and Romanin was fourth.

The Alberta/NWT/Nunavut junior development team members are joined by their coach, Ben Ferreira, at the pre-novice men’s, women’s, pairs and ice dance championships.

A total of 41 pre-novice men and 38 pre-novice women are competing.

The Skate Canada Challenge is also the qualifying event for novice, junior and senior skaters for entries to the 2018 nationals, Jan. 8 to 14 in Vancouver.

STARSkate results

The results are in for the St. Albert Skating Centre at the Edmonton STARSkate Invitational last weekend at Servus Credit Union Place.

SASC skaters were awarded 25 medals – 15 gold, six silver and four bronze – in 28 events.

Skaters in Star categories 1 to 3 received ribbons and medals were presented in Stars 4 to 10.

The results are as follows:

Sofya Fursova: Intro Interpretive, first.

Lexi Douziech: Silver Interpretive, first.

Tiani Makokis: Star 4 U10B, first.

Sadie Henderson: Star 4 U13A, first.

Madeliene Marcoux: Star 5 U10, second.

Lauren Smyth: Star 5 U10, eighth.

Ayla Wiltzen: Star 5 U10, first.

Sofya Fursova: Star 5 U13A, third.

Kyla Garritano: Star 5 U13A, first.

Seanna Stock: Star 5 U13D, first.

Alandra Sorrell: Star 5 13O B, first.

Felicia Holterman: Star 6A, sixth.

Emma MacDonald: Star 6B, second.

Juliette Thievin: Star 6B, first.

Mataya Kowaluk: Star 6C, first.

Sadie Makokis: Star 6C, second.

Grace Smyth: Star 6C, fourth.

Jenna Adams: Star 6D, second.

Kiera Berardocco: Star 6D, third.

Hailey Veitch: Star 6D, first.

Emily Jeske: Star 7A, fifth.

Kailey Ewanchuk: Star 8, second.

Tehya Wiltzen: Star 8, first.

Mataya Kowaluk: Star 9A, second.

Hailey Veitch: Star 9, third.

Tehya Wiltzen: Star 9A, first.

Melissa Kohut: Star 9B, first.

Melissa Kohut: Star 10, first.

Star 1: Felicity Bedard.

Star 2: Serine El-jurdi, Brooke Enright, Ryleigh Griffith, Isla Holterman, Kirsten Patterson, Mariia Verkalets.

Star 3: Sophia Block, Hailey De Lorenzi, Ethan Makokis, Aerya Mitchell, Mackenzie Rosenberger, Amelie Tessier, Lilian VanDusen.


About Author

Jeff Hansen

Jeff Hansen joined the St. Albert Gazette in 1991. He writes about sports, athletes and teams from St. Albert and area.