Eight candidates in council race


Eight candidates are officially in the race to fill the vacant seat at the city council table.

Hughena Burke, Mark Cassidy, Dawne Fowler, Natalie Mikus, Edward Ramsden, Bob Russell, Tash Taylor and Mark Turnbull will all be on the ballot on June 24 when St. Albert votes to replace former councillor Gilles Prefontaine.

Prefontaine resigned from council at the end of April to take the position of chief community development officer with the city.

All candidates filed their paperwork on nomination day, which was held on May 27. One other candidate, Stanley Haroun, initially filed his paperwork but opted to withdraw within 24 hours.

Burke, Cassidy and Russell all ran in the 2013 general municipal election. The other five are first-time council candidates.

Advance voting will be held on June 15, 17 and 20.

Candidate profiles

Mark Cassidy, Dawne Fowler and Mark Turnbull are all profiled in today’s edition.

The rest of the candidates were profiled in recent weeks as they made their intention to run known.


About Author

St. Albert Gazette

The St. Albert Gazette has been the source for news and community information in St. Albert and area since 1961. Today the twice-weekly full-colour tabloid delivers award-winning journalism in print, online and on mobile.