Alberta Female Hockey League games for the midget AAA Slash, midget elite Sharks and bantam elite Raiders


AFHL Raiders

The bantam elite St. Albert Raiders play their last game before the Christmas break today in the Alberta Female Hockey League.

Faceoff is 2:15 p.m. against the Lloydminster Steelers (7-5-1) at Go Auto Arena.

Friday the Raiders (7-5-1) hosted the North Central Impact (6-7-1) but the score was unavailable at press time.

The Raiders were winners of four in a row, including three by shutouts, before the 2-1 loss to the Edmonton Pandas (8-4) Dec. 2 at Bill Hunter Arena.

Meanwhile, the following Raiders will be competing at the Alberta Winter Games, Feb. 16 to 19 at Wood Buffalo: defencemen Julianna Giacobbo, Kali MacDonald and Jaidia Pisani and forwards’ Regan Ackroyd, Paige Ring and Juliann Sherbeth with Zone 5, defenceman Syroka Thornton and forwards’ Bronwyn Boucher, Kamea Brezovski, Kate-Lynn Charko and Sophie McKinley with Zone 6 and forwards’ Natalie Kieser and Mikayla Sarapuk with Zone 7.

The female hockey division at the Alberta Winter Games consists of players born in 2003 and 2004 on six zone teams.

AFHL Sharks

The St. Albert Sharks close out the midget elite team’s December schedule today in the Alberta Female Hockey League.

Game time is 4:45 p.m. against the Lloydminster Steelers (6-6-1) at Go Auto Arena.

Friday’s score between the Sharks (11-0) and North Central Impact (1-8-5) in St. Albert was unavailable at press time.

The last game for the Sharks was Monday’s 1-0 decision against the Edmonton Pandas (4-10-1) in St. Albert.

Olivia Michelutti scored her first goal of the season at 12:53 of the third period, with Kylie Foisy assisting on the play, and Cecelia Michelutti (5-0, 0.60 GAA) stopped 25 shots for her second shutout.

AFHL Slash

The St. Albert Ron Hodgson Slash host the Lloydminster Steelers tonight in the Alberta Female Hockey League.

Puck drop is 7:15 p.m. at Go Auto Arena.

The Slash (12-5) are second and the Steelers (10-2-1) are fourth in the six-team midget AAA standings.

The 2017 Esso Cup national champions are back from the Mandi Schwartz Memorial Tournament at the Athol Murray College of Notre Dame in Wilcox, Sask., and in pool play blanked the Regina Rebels 7-0, edged OHA 2-1 and tied the Westman Wildcats 1-1.

In the playoffs, the Slash lost 2-1 in a shootout to the Steelers and in the third-place game defeated the Red Deer Chiefs 5-3.


About Author

Jeff Hansen

Jeff Hansen joined the St. Albert Gazette in 1991. He writes about sports, athletes and teams from St. Albert and area.