View our mobile site

On Tap


  |  Posted: Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 06:00 am

Comments    |   

Print    |   


Storm football

The St. Albert Storm midget spring league team huddles up in Saturday’s Tier 2 division opener in the Capital District Minor Football Association.

Kickoff is 3 p.m. against the West Edmonton Raiders at Fuhr Sports Park in Spruce Grove.

Last weekend in exhibition action the Storm lost 37-7 to the Tier 1 division Lloydminster Red Dogs in Spruce Grove.

The team of Grade 9, 10 and 11 players tackle the Tier 1 Parkland Predators in next Wednesday’s exhibition at 6:30 p.m. at Clarke Park.

The midget spring league format consists of five Tier 1 and three Tier 2 teams.

The Storm’s seven-game schedule ends with the May 2-3 division finals.

Donnie MAC Cup

The line-ups have been finalized for the second annual Donnie MAC Cup on Saturday afternoon at the Akinsdale and Kinex arenas.

The hockey teams will play each other once in the round-robin goals for and against format.

Last year’s event raised more than $15,000 in the fight against lung cancer.

The fundraiser honours the memory of Don MacMillan, a St. Albert resident who died of lung cancer on March 19, 2011 at age 61.

The teams are as follows:

MAC Insurance

Goalie: Dave Hook.

Defence: Curtis Martin, Ryan Drake, Bill Pratt, Dave Wood.

Forwards: Derek MacMillan, Kelly Hilkewich, Brian Hooper, Mark Hull, Marc Canduro, Keir McIntyre, Mike Thompson, Sean Tymkow, Dan Braund.

Team Jay Herrick

Goalie: Sean Fisher.

Defence: Mark Thompson, Dan Daly, Shawn Thompson, Jerald Pruner.

Forwards: Jay Herrick, Dion Lesczynski, Jared Jowett, Terry Hoffman, Cam Kuzyk, Jared Leibel, John Russell, Jay Germain, Grant Nicol.

MAC Registries

Goalie: Doug Cain.

Defence: Lyndon Godlien, Sheldon Gomez, Andy Chapman, Moe Hooper.

Forwards: Tyler Schell, Brad Hooper, Jordan Hooper, Adam Bontus, Steve Kinsey, Adin Leibel, Brett Smith, Steve Jackson, Jay Dolynny.


Goalie: Cory Cairns.

Defence: Jordan Chorneyko, Lance Pederson, Mike Lutes, Marc Lutes.

Forwards: Chris Horvatis, Scott Martin, Graham McMillan, Curtis Crouse, Brody McIntyre, Mike Leibel, Adam Chorneyko, Shane Hordal, Kevin Drake.

Between 2:30 and 3 p.m. at Akinsdale the four teams will assemble on the ice for a group picture before Jean MacMillan and Rita Hawtin perform the ceremonial puck drop followed by a moment of silence.

Balloon twisters and face painters will also be in attendance until 4:30 p.m.

The fundraiser wraps up with a pub night and silent auction at The Celtic Knot.


NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The St. Albert Gazette welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to delete comments deemed inappropriate. We reserve the right to close the comments thread for stories that are deemed especially sensitive. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher.

All comments are moderated, and if approved could take up to 48 hours to appear on the website.

blog comments powered by Disqus