View our mobile site

On Tap


  |  Posted: Wednesday, Dec 25, 2013 06:00 am

Comments    |   

Print    |   


Junior curling

The Bellamy boys from St. Albert will go head-to-head in Thursdayís opening draw at the junior menís provincial curling championship in Leduc.

Ben is the third for the Kenton Maschmeyer rink and Jaques curls second for Thomas Scoffin.

The Saville Community Sports Centre teams are on the ice at 8 p.m.

Depending on tiebreakers, the final in the eight-team draw is Monday at 8 p.m. or Tuesday at 9:30 a.m.

The winner will represent Alberta at nationals, Jan. 18 to 26 in Liverpool, N.S.

In early December at the Northern Alberta Curling Association playdowns in Wetaskiwin, Scoffin won the A event and Maschmeyer was victorious in the B event.

Jaques competed at provincials last year with the NACA C rink and Ben finished third at provincials the year before representing NACA B.

The boysí mom, Nicole, is the coach of the Taylor Theroux rink from the Saville Centre that qualified for the junior womenís provincials in Leduc this week as the NACA B winners.

Visit for draw times and results.

Winter Classic

The fifth annual St. Albert Winter Classic Tournament starts Friday at 8:15 a.m. at Servus Credit Union Place.

The 49-game draw features six novice 1 teams, six novice 2 teams and eight atom teams.

Sundayís finals at Northstar Hyundai Arena are 2:30 p.m. for novice 1, 4 p.m. for novice 2 and 5:30 p.m. for the atoms.

Visit for schedules and results.

Reid scholarship

January 7 is the deadline to submit applications for the fifth annual John Reid Society Scholarship.

Individuals who played bantam AAA for the St. Albert Sabres after the 2004/05 season, and played hockey in St. Albert for a minimum of three years, are eligible to apply for the $1,000 scholarship.

Applicants also have to be enrolled in a recognized post-secondary education institution.

Visit for the complete criteria and application form.

Applications are to be dropped off at the St. Albert Minor Hockey Association office at Akinsdale Arena.

The successful applicant will be announced Jan. 16 at 7:15 p.m. during the opening ceremonies of the John Reid Memorial Tournament at Northstar Hyundai Arena.

Previous winners were Justin Kueber, Joshua Maeda, Steven Woolger, Brady McCorriston and Ryan Harrison.

For more information, contact tournament chair Trudy Kueber at 780-458-8725 or

Donations to the scholarship fund are being accepted by the John Reid Memorial Tournament Society.


NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The St. Albert Gazette welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to delete comments deemed inappropriate. We reserve the right to close the comments thread for stories that are deemed especially sensitive. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher.

All comments are moderated, and if approved could take up to 48 hours to appear on the website.

blog comments powered by Disqus