View our mobile site

On Tap


  |  Posted: Saturday, Apr 13, 2013 06:00 am

Comments    |   

Print    |   


Donnie MAC Cup

The rosters have been finalized for the inaugural Donnie MAC Cup charity hockey game April 21 at the West Edmonton Mall Ice Palace.

The majority of the players are St. Albert Minor Hockey Association alumni and coaches.

The Team MAC line-up features Derek MacMillan, Mark Hull, Brian Hooper, Adam Bontus, Brett Smith, Kelly Hilkewich, Dan Braund, Jordan Hooper, Scott Savoie, Curtis Martin, Mark Thompson, Jordan Chorneyko, Dave Wood, Marc Lutes, Moe Hopperscot and Corey Osland.

The Team MACSON roster includes Damian MacMillan, Tyler Schell, Mike Thompson, Sean Tymkow, Scott Martin, Cam Kuzyk, Jeff Filewich, Keir McIntyre, Billy Pratt, Lyndon Godlien, Cam Hawtin, Kevin Pollitt, Shawn Thompson, Ryan Drake and Sean Fisher.

John Thompson is the honorary coach.

Rita Hawtin and Jean MacMillan will perform the ceremonial puck drop at 4:15 p.m.

The fundraiser celebrates the memory of Don MacMillan, a St. Albert resident who passed away of lung cancer on March 19, 2011 at age 61.

Donations in the fight against lung cancer can be made to or at MAC Insurance at No. 8, 44 St. Thomas Street in St. Albert.

RunWild entries

The third annual Leading Edge RunWild Marathon surpassed the 1,000 mark in online registrations for the May 5 event in St. Albert.

The confirmation list totals are 95 for the 42.2-kilometre marathon, 283 for the 21.1-km half-marathon, 233 for the 10 km, 234 for the five km and 177 for the WildOnes Kids MaraFun for six- to 12-year-olds.

Last year 1,605 registrations were processed.

The deadline for online registrations is April 29 at 11:59 p.m. Visit to enter.

All profits from RunWild go to Edmontonís Zebra Child Protection Centre and the St. Albert 50+ Club.

The 2012 RunWild winners were Marc Meunier of St. Albert in the marathon (2:49:09) for the second-year in a row, Robert Brunelle of Edmonton in the half-marathon (1:24:51), Nicolas Wang of Calgary in the 10 km (37:47) and Dan Vigliatore of Pickering, Ont. in the five km (19:11).

The top females were Janelle Brcic of St. Albert in the marathon (3:20:59), Kristen Hansen of St. Albert in the half-marathon (1:34:53), Natalia Szynkarczuk of Edmonton in the 10 km (41:40) and Debra Davidson of Edmonton in the five km (22:59).


NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The St. Albert Gazette welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to delete comments deemed inappropriate. We reserve the right to close the comments thread for stories that are deemed especially sensitive. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher.

All comments are moderated, and if approved could take up to 48 hours to appear on the website.

blog comments powered by Disqus