View our mobile site

Curling Chatter


  |  Posted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2013 06:00 am

Comments    |   

Print    |   


Junior nationals

The first game for St. Albert skip Karynn Flory and her Crestwood Curling Club rink at the Canadian junior women’s championship in Fort McMurray is today at 1 p.m. against Sadie Pinksen of Nunavut.

Flory, third Holly Jamieson, second Klara Smiley, lead Katie Roskewich and coach Andrea Proctor are representing Alberta in the 14-team competition.

A new format at nationals has the field split into two seven-team pools, with seeding based on win-loss records at the nationals over the past three years. Teams will play a round robin within their pool, leading to a championship pool beginning on Wednesday, which will then lead to the weekend playoffs.

Teams that don’t qualify for the championship pool will play a seeding pool to determine rankings for the 2014 nationals in Liverpool, N.S.

Non-playoff teams will also participate in a mixed doubles event.

The final is Feb. 10 at 5 p.m. The winner will represent Canada at worlds, Feb. 28 to March 10 in Sochi, Russia.

Visit for draw times and results.

Flory, 20, is making her first appearance at nationals in her last year of junior eligibility. The Bellerose Composite High School graduate and first-year NAIT student in personal fitness training is the product of the Little Rocks program at the St. Albert Curling Club.

Men’s provincials

The Boston Pizza Cup men’s provincial championship slides into action Wednesday at the Leduc Recreation Centre.

Ranked first to 12 in the provincial draw are Kevin Koe (2012 champion), Kevin Martin (2010 Olympic gold medallist), Jamie King (St. Albert), Brendan Bottcher (Saville Centre), Brent Bawel (Saville Centre), Charley Thomas (Calgary), Kurt Balderston (Grande Prairie), Wade White (Saville Centre), Matt Blandford (Calgary), James Pahl (Strathcona County), Aaron Sluchinski (Airdrie) and Graham Powell (Grande Prairie).

St. Albert product Marc Kennedy (three Alberta and two Brier championships and one world gold medal) throws second rocks for the Martin rink.

King (2003 and 2005 Alberta finalist) will call the game while throwing lead rocks for his high-profile St. Albert-based team of Blake MacDonald (third for Koe’s 2010 Brier and world championship team and alternate for the defending Alberta champions), Scott Pfeifer (five-time Alberta champion, four-time Brier winner and three-time world gold medallist with the Ferbey Four) and Jeff Erickson (two-time U20 provincial champion).

Pfeifer and Kennedy were among the inaugural six inductees into the St. Albert Curling Club’s wall of fame in 2011.

Dan Holowaychuk of St. Albert and former fifth man with the Ferbey Four is the second for White.

Wednesday at 9:30 a.m. White plays Blandford and the winner takes on Koe at 6:30 p.m.

Also on tap at 6:30 p.m. is King against Thomas or Sluchinski and Martin against Balderson or Pahl.

The qualifying finals are 6:30 p.m. Thursday, 6:30 p.m. Friday and 1 p.m. Saturday. The opening playoff round games are Saturday at 6:30 p.m. The winner of one versus two goes to Sunday’s final at 2 p.m. and the loser plays the winner of three versus four in Sunday’s semifinal at 9:30 a.m.

The Alberta champion advances to the Brier, March 2 to 10 at Rexall Place.

Visit for draw times and results.

Ladies bonspiel

Entries are being accepted for the St. Albert Centre Ladies Bonspiel, Feb. 21 to 24 at the St. Albert Curling Club.

To register, contact Lynda at the club at 780-459-7007 or

Last year’s bonspiel featured 18 rinks. The winner was the Shannon Germsheid team. In the final Germsheid, Annette Mortensen (last rock thrower), Bean Nicol and Sharon Monk doubled Bev Merryweather 4-2 in seven ends.


NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The St. Albert Gazette welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to delete comments deemed inappropriate. We reserve the right to close the comments thread for stories that are deemed especially sensitive. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher.

All comments are moderated, and if approved could take up to 48 hours to appear on the website.

blog comments powered by Disqus